Wednesday, 21 August 2013

Review - The Woken Gods by Gwenda Bond

Blurb from Goodreads:
The more things change…

Five years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.

The more things stay the same…

This morning, Kyra Locke is late for school because of an argument with her father.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn't what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne "Oz" Spencer, a young Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous Egyptian relic. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in her protests that she knows nothing about it or her father's secrets.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the suspect help of scary Sumerian gods, her estranged oracle mother, and, of course, Oz--whose first allegiance is to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to recover the missing relic and save her father. And if she doesn't? Well, that may just mean the end of the world as she knows it. From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan.



My Review:
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley. Thanks to Angry Robot Ltd and Gwenda Bond*
3.5/5 stars
I love anything to do with ancient Egypt so when I saw that this book had Gods (some of them Egyptian) in it I just had to read it.

Overall I enjoyed this book. The concept was well-done and the plot was interesting. The characters were mainly likeable, my favourites being Oz and Tam and Bree whose determination I admired. The romance took a back seat and wasn't too in your face. I loved that relics could be used against the Gods and boy do I wish I had a shoe that could turn me invisible!

Despite all this The Woken Gods didn't wow me. But if you're looking for something different to read I would recommend this book.